Norwegian university will not impose academic boycott of Israel.

Ynet news reports :

Board of trustees at second largest university in Norway decides against academic boycott. Board Chairwoman: ‘I don’t think boycott will help, but will allow it to be openly discussed’

Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), the second largest university in the Scandinavian country, decided on Thursday not to impose an academic boycott on Israel, the university spokesman told Ynet.

The university rector, Torbjørn Digernes told Ynet that “according to my recommendation, the university’s board of trustees decided unanimously not to impose the boycott on Israel.

Read the rest of the article here.

One Response to “Norwegian university will not impose academic boycott of Israel.”

  1. Arieh Iserles Says:

    I have visited NTNU endless times, also when it is still called NTH. Some of my best academic friends are there: co-authors, past students and post-docs and many true and dear friends. (I’ve had a look at the list of signatories of the anti-boycott petition: a high proportion of names were familiar). In 1999 I was immensely honoured and pleased to be awarded the NTNU Lars Onsager Medal.

    And all these are a number of very selfish reasons why I am so delighted at the vote today. It will be a pleasure to visit Trondheim again in the future. And, to say the truth, I became quite attached to my Lars Onsager Medal and I am relieved that I don’t need to return it in protest. But, of course, forget my selfish reasons. It is the bigger picture that matters. Academic boycotts and academic collective punishment are wrong. Full stop.


Leave a Reply

