Some years later

First they came for the Jews
and I said it was a smear,
First they came for the Jews,
and I said it was all a Tory plot,
First they came for the Jews,
and I said it was all a clever ploy to silence debate about Israel
First they came for the Jews
and I said what about other forms of racism
First they came for the Jews,
and I said look at all their crimes
First they came for the Jews,
and I said that may have been true back then, but not now.
First they came for the Jews,
And I said they brought it down on themselves
First they came for the Jews,
and I said they were liars.

Anomymous, 2016

3 Responses to “Some years later”

  1. Brian Goldfarb Says:

    Sadly, some of this is so clever it leaves me baffled. Thus. who brought it down on themselves? Jews or the Labour Party.

    I don’t think that I’m that obtuse, but I need enlightenment here.

    • Everyone's a critic Says:

      I read it as referring to Jenny Tonge’s latest comments, that Jews bring antisemitism down on themselves.

      • Brian Goldfarb Says:

        Ah, thank you for that. So, it’s the oh so old “blaming the victim” tactic. Demand that they change their behaviour, and, abracadabra, prejudice and discrimination (to say nothing of hate) disappears. Just like that.

        If only…


Leave a Reply

