UCU NEC elections 2018

Engage readers who are also UCU members should have received their voting papers for the NEC elections. In the past those promoting the boycott of Israel, or opposing recognized definitions of antisemitism, have tended to be associated with UCU Left.

In general – although individual views on these issues do of course vary – the ‘independent broad left’ (IBL) is perhaps more likely to be in tune with Engage readers’ own priorities, more pragmatic and more focused on such key issues as pay, pensions, marketization, and casualisation.

UCU members should read all the election statements, but this is the list of IBL candidates by post/region.


Vice President: Brian Hamilton

London and East HE: Amanda Williams, Sarah Brown

North East HE: Paul Errington, Joan Harvey

North West FE: Janet Farrar

London and East FE: Pete Monaghan

North East FE: Rob Goodfellow

Northern Ireland HE: Renee Prendergast

UK elected HE: Dave Anderson, Michael McKrell, Joanna de Groot

UK elected FE: Mel Stoup, Robert Clunas

UK elected HE casual vacancy: Jacky Collins

HE and FE Land-based seat: Helen Burley

Women Members HE: Ariane Bogain, Victoria Showunmi

Women Members FE: Carolyn Campbell

%d bloggers like this: